It's going to be my second year experiencing dorm life. My first year wasn't a success but it wasn't a disaster either. I was one of those people who didn't think I needed a whole lot, after all I am not a high maintenance person. As the semester progressed I realized how wrong I was. As I told my aunt, you don't really appreciate a cup until it's 2AM and you wake up hot and sweaty craving water! As a health and wellness minor, I know that when you are thirsty, your body is already dehydrated, but when you are craving water like a PMS'ing chick craves chocolate, I think you are in a bit of trouble. The very next day, I drove to my local Setaucket Wal*Mart and bought myself plastic cups, cute ones too, they were clear with red and green polka dots (Christmas comes early up here). The one thing I never bought and regretted it time after time was Pepto Bismol.
Now I can go multiple ways with this post to get to where I am going with this but since the trade deadline for the MLB just came and it's an Erica and Joe story, I will go the baseball route. A long time ago there was a short stop that played for the Boston Red Sox named Freddy Sanchez and a young GM named Theo Epstein that Red Sox nation hails as a god. Well this god amongst men traded the young and talented Freddy Sanchez for a player named Brandon Lyon sending Sanchez to the Pittsburgh Pirates. This saddened me greatly as he was one of the first minor leaguers that I followed, so being a great baseball fan I followed him in his career with Pittsburgh and since I didn't have a NL team, decided The Pirates would be mine.
Fast-forward to 2008 there was a young player in the Yankees farm system by the name of Jose Tabata and the puppet GM known as Brian Cashman who traded Tabata for Demarte and Xavier Nady (the 4079634th) sending Tabata to the Pittsburgh Pirates. This saddened Joe as he was a player he considered would be beneficial for the Yankees in the future. Thus the decision to both like the Pirates and have them be our "neutral" team was born. Now I am not too sure how serious Joe is about that but I am not sure if I want to know....
Anyways July 31st is a good day in the land of Erica. It's my uncle's birthday and it's a baseball holiday. This year Theo finally listened to me (the memo must have gotten lost with the fan mail, I will make sure this doesn't happen in the future) and signed Jarrod Saltalamacchia. Maybe next year he will bring Justin Masterson back to the Red Sox. The Yankees signed Austin Kearns and Lance Berkman. Who did the Pirates sign? Well let me introduce you to him in the best way I know possible!!!
Yes, Mr. Diarrhea himself, moves from The Yankees to The Pirates.
Another reason I wanted to go the baseball route was because I needed a segway into the misspelling which is really what this blog is supposed to be all about. MLB and the Pepsi Refresh Project have teamed together as you can see here: Pepsi and MLB. Joe's been out to sea as part of his naval duties, and I have been sharing information with him as far as baseball is concerned (because I am awesome like that ;)) and informed him about Chan Ho Park (aka Mr. Diarrhea) had been traded, and had him guess. First guess was Boston, to which I replied No, one of your favorite teams. He than said Mets which shocked me because he hates the Mets, but unfortunately people think I am being sarcastic at times when I am not (inflection and tone don't translate well over text). I than informed him about CHP going to the Pirates which reminded me that I had voted for Pittsburgh for the Pepsi refresh project. Instead, it came out as the following:
Erica:
As if our beloved Pirates aren't a laughing stock enough
I actually voted for the Pirates in the pepso thing they are doing
Joe:
huh?
what's pepso?
So you think it ends there, oh no no, not when it comes to me! Joe then decides to let Allie know what's going on because well, it's her right to know. So I see the little post on her Facebook wall and comment as such:
It's a wonderful mix of Pepsi with a hint of Pepto Bismol to counter act the gassiness of Pepso!!!
Yes, I did it again!!! I blame my BlackBerry Storm for this. It would have recognized the mistake because it's has my back and looks out for me, unlike Facebook....you spoil me BlackBerry...
![]() |
| Thanks to the maker of this little icon, if you see this on my page, comment and leave your info so you can be credited in the appropriate fashion :) |

No comments:
Post a Comment