Not only is August 8th my mother's birthday, the name of a song, and the day where I expect pure perfection from the Red Sox, it also marks...*DRUM ROLL*
THE FIRST NFL PRE-SEASON GAME!!!
That's right! Football is officially official, and I am super excited because football season is such a wonderful time. Now don't get me wrong, I LOVE baseball, and nothing in life is more enjoyable than watching a Red Sox Yankees game, but football is once a week so all that energy and "hatride" for the other team just builds up and is released into an approximately 3hr time period or more if the game goes into OT.
Today's game features a whole bunch of epic gailures, and I am so excited. The matchup: Cincinnati vs. Dallas. Which team do you begin with first? Oh yes, the recently laughable Bengals. So you guys think you are all bad ass now that you beat the Patriots (who last season lost Wes Welker)? Well unfortunately for the city of Cincinnati, none of the fans are even going to be allowed in the stadium. It's filled to max capacity already by the giant egos of Chad Ochocinco and the newly signed Terrel Owens. I mean really?! I wonder if there is a any clauses in their reality TV contracts about footage of them two crossing paths. I mean could you imagine them fighting over footage to be aired? Would they combine the two making the world most trashiest TV show. It's kinda sad how it would be considering there is a show called Jersey Shore out there...OK I need to stop, this has the potential to get way out of control....which leaves the other team...
The Dallas Cowgirls!!!! This is actually my dads favorite team. We also, a couple years ago, had a conversation about this, and I had asked him if he thought I would be a Cowboys fan if him and my mom didn't divorce, and he said "Do you really think any influence of mine would have made a difference?" Well dad, you are right. Thanks for passing on the "think for yourself gene", but I guess in a sense it backfired. (I'd like to point out at this time that I do love my dad, and we joke about football all the time). I am not a fan of the Cowboys at all, in fact, I did the most sacrilegious thing a daughter could do, and chose the NY Giants as my NFC team of choice...how do you like them apples? Which actually brings me to the point of this blog.
As I have mentioned before the summer of 2008 was the birth of our big inside joke about misspellings. We've had masked-potatoes, epic gailures, ultimare successes, polympics, etc...but I left one important one out, and saved it for today. As I mentioned in the above paragraph, I watch the NY Giants, which comes in handy when I am at school because there is no way in heck I am watching the Jets (unless they are playing the Patriots). One day in chat we were talking about football (in August we always get that football fever) and since I like to make random connections and Joe had just enlisted into the navy I came up with the G.I. ants. You get it? I personally thought it was hilarious. Somewhere along the way with talking about football, Allie had typed GIants which made it look like Glants, and thus a new team in the NFL was born, the New York football Glants. And ever since than, I don't feel like I am betraying dad so much (alright I never did but it would have made for a good ending).
So in the spirit of football and the upcoming season, I would just like to say GO GLANTS and GO PATRIOTS!!! I leave you all and T.O with this: My favorite NFL player =)
![]() |
| Oh Rodney Harrison, I miss you! Kerry Rhodes has nothing on you!! |

No comments:
Post a Comment