Pages

21 July, 2010

Oakland: An intense feeling of dislike

Some background information: As a Red Sox fan, Red Sox nation "dictates" that I am to hate the Yankees (and everything associated with it) with every fabric of my being. Well two things:
1. I refuse to hate someone solely based on their baseball team of preference. One of my best friends is a Yankee fan and if I had followed the rules of the nation I wouldn't have gotten the chance to know the person beyond the Yankee hat. Someone I consider to be wicked awesome!
2. I don't believe people should act a certain way bc it is what society "dictates". I consider myself to be very conservative when it comes to politics, but I also fully support stem cell research, which according to these "rules" of being on the right, I am not supposed to believe in, but Nancy Reagan supports it as well and I don't think anyone wants to fight with us!

I was going to leave the story of "hatride" for a rainy day but The Red Sox just lost to the Oakland A's after a promising start. Jed Lowrie was back and hope was renewed that the dismissal of Marco Scutaro would be imminent. Jed walked in his first at bat which would result in a run scored. He also drove in a run with a bloop to center field. That's where it ended.

As is quite obvious, I march to the beat of my own drum (or if I had my choice, it would be a vuvuzela), and in my mind, if there is any team to dislike it would be a team that thinks they are awesome even when they aren't, have obnoxious fans, and are from a city that is absolutely trashy, and with that I give you OAKLAND, CA. OK so if anyone reads this from Oakland and gets offended, please understand that 1. I am not the only one who feels this way, and 2. Acting like an idiot when your team is down 46-0 by halftime is going to give your town that kind of reputation. And don't say Boston is like that because we are a bunch of Irish, Italian and Portuguese people, drinking is our thing, it's not nice (or politically correct if you like to play that card) to make fun of one's culture. Now, I am all for being a great fan when your team is just going through "transition years" but if you're going to be abusive, take it out on your own fans. Patriot fans go to (I honestly don't even know the name of the field/stadium [you know your town sucks when you have to share a baseball/football field]) because it's cheaper and it gives us a chance to see the nice parts of California (I'm talking vine country, etc...not LA).

Anyways, Oakland won, and that got my blood boiling. And since I am trying to be a good Health and Wellness student instead of drowning my sorrows in masked potatoes or ice cream, or taking out my anger by throwing things as I usually do, I indulged in NCIS and than listened to some music when California on my mind came on, perfect song to reflect on how I felt about Oakland, and thus the decision to introduce one of the most famous misspellings was made.

Now we all have our little quirks, and one of my good friend's quirk is that she is the self appointed grammar police. So I take it upon myself to privately (we have a private message button) make it aware to my friends so they can fix the problem before she does. However; sometimes in life there are spelling errors that just warrant some, OK fine, a whole lot of laughter. The game was against the Yankees and unfortunately for us they were losing. Allie took this as an opportunity to explain her hatride for the Yankees. This was just an opportunity no one could pass up, not even the masked potato queen herself! We must have laughed about this for a good few minutes. But what made us laugh even harder was when she asked "Isn't that how it's spelled?!" Hatride?!

And for a final thought, Allie is like myself, we are both science nerds. It explains why I can't type a word that begins with Oly without wanting to begin it with a P (future post!). We can spell words like Amphoteric, and juxtamedullary without a problem, but a word as complex as the two syllable hatred, well ummm, can you please pass me a dictionary?

No comments:

Post a Comment